Probate Court: Concealed Weapon Permits

Probate Court Notice  

Hours to Apply: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Starting January 1, 2013 Probate Court will only accept cash, money orders or cashier's checks in the exact amount for Marriage Licenses and Pistol Permits. Probate Court does not accept checks for Marriage Licenses and Pistol Permits.

To apply for a firearms license in this court, you must be 21 years of age or older and be a resident of Chatham County.

  1. You must present:
    • 1) A photo I.D. and
    • 2) Proof of your present Chatham County address.
  2. All permits will be sent to you by mail.

  3. If the permit is denied, there is NO Refund.

  4. Replacement fee for a lost permit is $6.00.

  5. Information on gun safety classes is available by contacting the Chatham County Sheriff's Office or the Savannab-Chatham Metro Police Department.

The concealed weapon application is a two-part process.


  1. All applicants must complete an application in the Probate Court.
    The Probate Court is located in Room 509 in the Chatham County Courthouse at 133 Montgomery Street, Savannah, Georgia. [Map & Directions]
  2. The application fee is thirty-seven dollars ($37.00)
    This may be either exact cash or money order or cashier’s check (payable to Chatham County Probate Court)


  1. All applicants must be fingerprinted and have a background check.

  2. The fee for the fingerprint/background check is $52.75. This is payable either by money order or cashier’s check (payable to Cogent Systems GAPS) for phone registration. Credit or debit cards may be used for online registration.

  3. The information for the fingerprint process will be given to the applicant when they complete an application in the Probate Court.

The permit is valid for five (5) years, at which time it may be renewed, but not earlier than 90 days prior to its expiration date. Renewals follow the same application process.

States Entitled To Firearm License Reciprocity:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, And Wyoming

© Copyright 2014 - Chatham County Courts